YEARLING

The Case of the Missing Moonstone (The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 1)

Sale price Price $16.97 Regular price $29.72

Publish Date: 2016-01-26

Binding: Paperback

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket!

Jordan Stratford imagines an alternate 1826, where Ada Lovelace (the worlds first computer programmer) and Mary Shelley (author of Frankenstein) meet as girls and form a secret detective agency!

Lady Ada Byron, age eleven, is a genius. Isolated, awkward and a bit rudebut a genius. Mary Godwin, age fourteen, is a romantic. Adventurous, astute, and kind, Mary is to become Adas first true friend. And together, the girls conspire to form the Wollstonecraft Detective Agencya secret constabulary for the apprehension of clever criminals. Their first case involves a stolen heirloom, a false confession, and an array of fishy suspects. But its no match for the deductive powers and bold hearts of Ada and Mary.

Mystery fans will love this tween girl riff on Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. History buffs will be delighted to see all the real figures who play a role in this story and appreciate the extensive backmatter that helps separate truth from fiction. Parents and educators hoping to promote the STEM fields for girls will be thrilled to have a series where two girls use math, science, and creative analytical thinking to solve crimes. But most especially--emerging readers will love this series filled with humor, action, intrigue and wonderful artwork from Kelly Murphy.


From the Hardcover edition.

Customer Reviews